Memesearch Methodologies: Frameworks, Quant/Qual Anaylsis, Methods

Hey folks!!

Let's talk methods.

What discipline(s) are you coming from?

What theories/frameworks are you using to support your meme studies research?

Do you do quantitative or qualitative analysis? Something else? A little in-between?

How do you organize, collect, and manage data about memes?

How do we understand the ways memes change over time, with different interpretant communities?

Does the nature of memes require a new methodological approach? What would that look like in your eyes?

More questions which have yet to be asked?

1 Like

I'm a philosophy graduate with a focus on games and biology. I've been approaching meme studies by working on foundational issues of how the new discipline of meme studies is being developed, especially by looking at how different traditions within meme studies have emerged (and how they can be synthesised).

I focus more on qualitative research but I think "hybrid" research methodologies will become far more important. For example, I think laboratories for memetic engineering experiments will could provide much more useful data about how memes work than (say) scraping memepages. I don't have a lot of experience with quantitative research, and would be thrilled to try out all the different research methodologies everybody is using!