Memes and music

A really interesting thing happened a few months back. I am a musician and a track I had made was all of a sudden getting millions of hits on a tracking system we use to see what we'll be paid on (specific to streams)

We found we had featured in some random Malaysian (?) animal video but because the video is only 20 seconds long we won't be paid (has to be a minimum of 30 second for payment)

Here's the video: smart buffalo - YouTube

It's so interesting how something totally unrelated to the original artist/music/genre is ripped out of context and used for something new. I see this happening a lot on tiktok and has, for many musicians actually given them a springboard to bigger things.

I think unless the meme is based on the music itself such as The Caretaker set up around his set of albums "Everywhere at the End of Time" there wouldn't be much connecting to the background music.

The Caretaker was actually able to still have the context of the original music hold when it was taken over as a tiktok meme in 2020/2021 by teenagers stating that it "made them feel as if they had dementia" (Although this warped into 'this music gives dementia symptoms)

It's totally random what will and won't be used or even if it will still have the same context. I'm interested to hear others thoughts on this and maybe some experiences too.

1 Like

Hyping up music on TikTok has been a strategy for a long time now, as you point out (e.g. as a way to build pre-release demand).

It's since become a popular (and apparently saturated) strategy to engineer viral hits on TikTok:

• Charli XCX posted a TikTok that suggested her label asked her to make her eighth TikTok in a week.
  • English singer-songwriter FKA Twigs said “all record labels ask for are TikToks. ... I got told off today for not making enough effort.” The video is no longer available on TikTok.